28.1 C

Assam: 60 villages to be included in Bodoland Territorial Region

Must read

Guwahati, Jan 27: Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has announced that at least 60 villages from Assam’s Sonitpur district will be included in Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

Sarma, while attending at the 74th Republic Day celebrations, announced that the villages in Dhekiajuli, Behali, Sootea, Gohpur and Biswanath with 80 per cent or more Bodo population will be included in the BTR “as part of its commitment to implement”.

The villages- 43 revenue villages and 17 forest villages to be included in the BTR, fall under Sonitpur district in North Assam.

Sarma said, “The Bodo Accord is a milestone. We are declaring our decision to include the Bodo majority villages today.”

The tripartite Bodo Accord was signed in January 2020 for permanent peace in the Bodo belt.

The BTR currently comprises four districts — Baksa, Chirang, Kokrajhar and Udalguri.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article