38.5 C

Assam and Meghalaya CMs begin second phase of border talks

Must read

Shillong, May 24: The second phase of the border talks between the chief ministers of Assam and Meghalaya began at the State Guest House at Koinadora in Guwahati, Assam on Wednesday.

Meghalaya delegates present in the meeting included Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma, Dy CMs – Prestone Tynsong & Snaiwbhalang Dhar, Cabinet Minister Comingone Ymbone and senior Govt officials including Chief Secretary.

The Assam delegates included Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Cabinet Ministers Atul Bora, Pijush Hazarika and Chandra Mohan Patowary, and senior officials.

The six remaining areas of dispute under the second phase are- Langpih, Borduar, Nongwah-Mawtamur, Desh Doomreah, Block 1 & Block II, and Psiar-Khanduli.

It may be mentioned that on March 29, 2022, the Chief Ministers of Assam and Meghalaya, Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma and Conrad Sangma, respectively, signed a historic agreement in presence of Union home minister Amit Shah in the national capital to resolve border dispute in 6 of the 12 areas of difference between the two states.

The two state governments had come up with the draft resolution to resolve the border disputes in six of the 12 disputed areas along the 884 kilometers inter-state boundary.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest article