26.1 C

Three sitting MLAs to join BJP in December: Mawrie

Must read

Shillong, Nov 18: At least three sitting legislators are all set to formally join the BJP in New Delhi next month. Informing this on Friday, BJP state president Ernest Mawrie said, “We have three sitting MLAs who will be joining us in New Delhi in the first week of December.”

He, however, refused to disclose their names citing that it may attract the provisions of the anti-defection law that is there under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India.

Sources informed that three disgruntled legislators of National People’s Party (NPP) may soon quit the party. Phulbari legislator SG Estamur Mominin and Selsella legislator Ferlin CA Sangma are likely to join the BJP and Raksamgre legislator Benedic Marak will join the opposition AITC.

Along with Marak, TMC legislator from Mawsynram Himalaya M Shangpliang has also expressed his keen interest to join the saffron party ahead of the 2023 polls.

Mawrie, however, denied that the information is true and said, “Yes, some of them are from NPP and some from TMC and some from other parties but it is too early to disclose how many are from NPP but they are from various parties and they are going to join us very soon.”

The BJP state president further informed that the party is also in touch with another two sitting legislators. “They are also keen to join the party because of the good work of the BJP government in the country. Especially in the North East, you have seen the progress of development has taken place in Assam, Manipur and other NE states. So it is their wish and they have already informed us that because of the good work of the government under the leadership of the PM, they want to join us,” he added.

More articles


Latest article