29.8 C

18 Meghalaya TMC candidates file nomination papers on Day 5

Must read

Shillong, Feb 4: 18 candidates of Meghalaya Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Saturday filed their nomination papers for the upcoming Assembly elections scheduled to take place on February 27.

The candidates who filed nominations on Saturday are as follows – George B Lyngdoh from Umroi, Richard M Marak from South Tura, Miani D Shira from Ampati, Lasting Suchiang from Mowkaiaw, Gilbert Laloo from Mylliem, Sengkhal A Sangma from Dalu, Fernandez Dkhar from Rambrai-Jyrngam, Dondor Marbaniang from Mawkynrew, Macmillan Kharbani from Nongstoin, Lazarus Sangma from Chokpot, Elgiva Gwyneth Rynjah from North Shillong, Saljaringrang Marak from Baghmara, Rajesh M Marak from Rongara-Siju, Dr. Saralin Dorphang from Mawhati, Gilbert Nongrum from Umsning, Sunmoon D Marak from Jirang, Longsing Bey from Nongpoh, and Vincent Sangma from Mawsynram.

Five Meghalaya TMC candidates from the Ri Bhoi district are among those leaders who filed their nominations on Saturday amid loud cheers from party workers and supporters.

“As TMC leaders, we have a strong desire to provide the right governance. The five candidates from the Ri-Bhoi district stand for the rights of the people and our rights as minorities. We want the people to elect leaders who are already aware of what they will do for the electorate in the next five years if they are voted to power,” said Umroi MLA George B Lyngdoh.

TMC’s South Tura candidate Richard Mrong Marak also filed his nomination papers at the South Tura DC office where he greeted CM Conrad Sangma and his mother with respect.

“From raising issues on the streets here to the capital of our country, I have done it all during my student and youth politics. I have been fighting the good fight for many years and politics is not new for me. In order to fulfill TMC’s 10 Pledges for Meghalaya, we are actively working and campaigning among people,” he told media personnel outside the DC office.


More articles


Latest article