20.5 C

Mizoram Polls 2023: BJP wins in Palak and Saiha, fails to retain Tuichawng seat

Must read

Aizawl, December 04: As the counting was still underway for the Mizoram Assembly polls 2023, most of the results were known and one was the fate of BJP in the north eastern state. Although BJP has done better than the last elections, it failed to retain its seat previously won.

In 2018 elections, BJP’s Buddha Dhan Chakma had won from Tuichawng. Buddha Dhan Chakma was the first candidate of the BJP to win a seat for the party in the state.

However, in the current election, the party failed to retain the seat. BJP had fielded Durjya Dhan Chakma from Tuichawng this time, but he lost to Mizo National Front (MNF)’s Rasik Mohan Chakma by a margin of just 651 seats.


Nonetheless, BJP has done better and increased its tally to 2 seats. It won Palak and Saiha, as per the results declared by Election Commission of India (ECI). K. Hrahmo won from Palak and Dr. K. Beichhua won from Saiha.

BJP had fielded candidates in 13 seats in 2023 Mizoram Assembly elections, the voting for which had taken place on November 7.

Being a small state with little over 8.5 lakh eligible voters, the small margins play a big role and even a lead of 100 can be difficult to overcome.

Meanwhile, the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) secured a landslide victory. It had won 25 seats by 1.50 PM and was leading in 2 more seats.

Read: ZPM secures landslide victory in Mizoram Assembly polls 2023, wins 27 seats


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub

More articles


Latest article