25.7 C

Tripura Assembly polls 2023: TIPRA Motha ready to contest in 50-55 constituencies

Must read

Agartala, Jan 24: TIPRA Motha, led by Pradyut Kishore Debbarma, has decided to contest from 50 to 55 seats in the upcoming Tripura Assembly polls, slated to be held on February 16.

Addressing a press conference on Monday at Agartala, TIPRA Motha president Motha Bijoy Kumar Hrangkhawl said, “With no written assurance on Greater Tipraland issue, we have decided to contest the upcoming Tripura election in 50 to 55 seats and positive enough to cross the absolute majority mark on our own. The party leadership is finalising the candidate list.”

Earlier, Tipra Motha chief Pradyut Kishore Debbarma said, “We have both agreed to the process of coming as singular party with singular flag and a singular symbol against anyone who are against our constitutional demand of Greater Tipraland. The process has been started by our senior leaders and we will all sit down and we will jointly announce to the people of Tripura who actually wants united Tsanga and eventually parties are not as important as will of the people.”

On the other hand, with 20 seats in the state reserved for the Scheduled Tribes, all parties from the CPI(M) and Congress to the BJP, have been trying to forge an alliance with the TIPRA Motha.


More articles


Latest article