32.7 C

Lok Sabha Election: Assam Votes in Final Phase: Polling in Four Lok Sabha Seats today: 27.34 % voter turnout till 11 a.m.

Must read

Guwahati, May 7: The final phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Assam are underway to determine the electoral fortunes of 47 candidates competing for four seats Guwahati, Barpeta, Kokrajhar (ST) and Dhubri, which collectively have an electorate of over 81 lakhs.

Approximately the voters turn out stands at 10 percent till now. As per the reports the poll percentage till 11am stands at 27.34% overall in the four districts. Poll Percentage in Barpeta is 27.19%, percentage in Dhubri is 27.77%, poll percentage in Guwahati stands at 26.25%, in Kokrajhar the percentage is 28.28%.

The polls opened at 7 am and will continue until 5 pm.

AGP-BJP candidate Phani Bhusan Chowdhury, contesting from the Barpeta Lok Sabha seat, cast his vote at Birjhara Girls’ High School in Bongaigaon
Congress’s Lok Sabha candidate from Guwahati, Mira Borthakur Goswami, cast her vote early this morning at Narbam LP School in Beltola
Anurag Goel- Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Assam

Electoral Arrangements: Anurag Goel, the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) of Assam has ensured that all necessary arrangements are in place. This includes the deployment of the Border Security Force (BSF) and the Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA) to ensure smooth conduct in remote and riverine locations.

Voting Infrastructure: A total of 9,516 Ballot Units (BUs), 9,516 Control Units (CUs), and 9,516 VVPATs are being utilized for the voting process. Additionally, backup Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have been provided, and zonal and sector officers are in place to handle any contingencies, such as technical failures.

Polling Booths: There are a sensitive total of 300 polling stations across all constituencies that require special attention. The overall number of polling stations in the state for these elections is 9,516, with a mix of rural, urban, and model polling stations.

Voter Demographics: The updated figures for general electors show 81,49,091 individuals are eligible to vote. Of these, 41,00,544 are male, 40,48,436 are female, and there’s a mention of voters from the ‘third gender’, emphasizing inclusivity in the electoral process.

Key Constituency Details:
Kokrajhar: With 14,84,571 electors, the Kokrajhar constituency is preparing for a multi-cornered electoral battle, with the UPPL and the BPF being notable frontrunners.

Dhubri: There are a total of 26,60,827 eligible voters. The constituency is known for triangular contests, and the current phase is no exception.

Barpeta: In Barpeta, with 19,66,847 registered voters, the contest is likely to be a triangular fight among the AGP, the Congress, and the AIUDF.

Guwahati: With 20,36,846 electors, Guwahati is observing a straight fight between the BJP and the Congress, with complex dynamics potentially influenced by other parties such as the AGP.

Notable Candidates:
Kokrajhar: UPPL MLA Jayanta Basumatary (Kokrajhar) and BPF nominee Kampa Borgoyary are key figures in the fray.

LS polls 2024 - UPPL versus BPF for Kokrajhar LS seat
Jayanta Basumatary & Kampa Borgoyary

Guwahati: Bijuli Kalita Medhi of the BJP and Mira Borthakur Goswami of the Congress are key figures here.

Bijulee Kalita Medhi & Mira Borthakur

Barpeta: Deep Bayan from the Indian National Congress (INC), Manoranjan Talukdar from the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)), Phani Bhusan Choudhury from the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP)

Deep Bayan, Manoranjan Talukdar & Phani Bhusan Choudhury

Dhubri: Badruddin Ajmal from the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Shukur Ali from the Asom Jana Morcha (AJM). Wazed Ali Choudhury from the Indian National Congress (INC)

Badruddin Ajmal & Shukur Ali

Election Security and Sensitivity:
Security Measures: Adequate security has been put in place, with companies of security forces having been deployed to ensure the safety of the polling process.

Polling Sensitivity: Special attention is being given to 300 polling stations designated as critical or sensitive.

Notably, Guwahati and Dhubri Lok Sabha constituencies have areas bordering Meghalaya where a large number of voters from Garo, Boro, Koch, Gorkha, etc will also take part in the final phase of poll to be held today.


More articles


Latest article