20.3 C

TMC renominate Sushmita Dev for Rajya Sabha seat from West Bengal

Must read

Guwahati, Feb 12: Former president of the Congress’ women’s wing and ex-Lok Sabha member Sushmita Dev secured a nomination from the Trinamool Congress (TMC) for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections.

Dev, who joined the TMC in 2021, is among the four candidates announced by the party on Sunday.

She served as a Rajya Sabha member from West Bengal in 2021 after being nominated by the TMC.


Joining Dev are journalist Sagarika Ghose, Dalit Matua community leader Mamata Bala Thakur, and current Rajya Sabha member Nadimul Haque.

The TMC currently holds 14 of the 16 Rajya Sabha seats from West Bengal, and with these nominations, they aim to maintain their dominance in the upcoming elections scheduled for February 27.

Elections will be held for 56 Rajya Sabha seats across 15 states.

Five seats from West Bengal will fall vacant in April, including the one currently held by Dev.

The other four seats are occupied by current TMC members Haque, Subhashis Chakraborty, Abir Biswas, and Dr Santanu Sen.

Also Read: Mizoram CM seek GoI intervention on placement of civil servants

Also Watch

Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub

More articles


Latest article