28.5 C

Lok Sabha polls 2024: Assam CM casts his vote in Barpeta LS constituency

Must read

Guwahati, May 7: Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma cast his vote on Tuesday at Amingaon polling station at Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency. His wife and daughter accompanied him at the polling booth.

After casting his vote, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “Today is the last day of the Assam election, and we have peacefully completed the three phases with a recorded voter turnout of 80 per cent. I am sure we will register more than 80 percent turnout in polling Today. The people of Assam will support a ‘Bharat’ which will become a ‘Vishwaguru’ and achieve its goal in ‘Amrit Kal’.”

Sarma thanked the people of Assam for peaceful voting.

“No violence has been reported in Assam during voting. I am sure that the BJP party will do well in the election and help Prime Minister Modi become the Prime Minister for the third time,” he stated.

The Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency has ten assembly segments: Barpeta, Pakabetbari, Bhabanipur-Sarbhog, Bajali, Bongaigaon, Abhayapuri, Nalbari, Tihu, Barkhetri, and Hajo-Sualkuchi.

The constituency has 19,49,873 voters, with Muslims accounting for over 7 lakh of the population and the rest being Hindus.

Since the 1952 general election, Congress and CPIM have won this seat, except in 2014 when Sirajuddin Ajmal, the brother of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) chief Badruddin Ajmal, was elected to the Lok Sabha. In 2019, Abdul Khaleque from Congress won the seat with a margin of 140,307 votes against Kumar Deepak Das of AGP.

Barpeta has registered a 63.20 percent voter turnout till 3 pm.

Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/ne_media_hub


More articles


Latest article