28.2 C

Tripura by-election: BJP candidates submit nominations; TIPRA Motha, Congress opt out to prevent vote fragmentation

Must read

Sonamura (Tripura), Aug 17: Ahead of the impending by-polls on September 05 in Tripura’s Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly constituencies, nominees from the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) officially entered the electoral fray by submitting their nominations in a ceremonious event held in Sonamura within the Sepahijala district on Thursday.

Prominent party figures, including Chief Minister Dr. Manik Saha, Union Minister of State Pratima Bhowmik, Minister Ratan Lal Nath, Tinku Roy, Sushanta Chowdhury, Santana Chakma, and BJP State President Rajib Bhattacharji, were part of the event to endorse the nomination process and bolster the candidates’ campaigns.

Having received the endorsement of the party’s central election committee, Tafajjal Hossain has been nominated as the BJP’s candidate for the Boxanagar assembly constituency, while Bindu Debnath has been selected for the Dhanpur assembly seat.


Energizing their campaign efforts, the BJP orchestrated a vibrant rally in Sonamura following a public assembly, with both candidates officially presenting their nomination papers.

Party leaders voiced their unwavering belief in the transformative initiatives undertaken by the double-engine government, spearheaded by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the national level and Dr. Manik Saha at the state level.

Amidst allegations of opposition schemes to dilute BJP’s standing, party leaders asserted that the opposition’s endeavours are in vain, as the people of the state remain steadfast in their trust for the BJP’s developmental pursuits.

Casting aspersions on the opposition, they criticized their opportunistic stance and absence of any substantive ideology.


Meanwhile, following a precedent set by the Congress, the principal opposition party TIPRA Motha has chosen not to field contestants for the forthcoming by-election.

In a strategic move to counteract the fragmentation of anti-BJP votes, Animesh Debbarma, Opposition Leader and senior TIPRA Motha figure, affirmed that their party will abstain from contesting the by-election.

However, the party’s stance on supporting CPI-M candidates will be unveiled on August 19, pending a leadership meeting to deliberate on the matter.

Also Read: KHADC delegation meets Guv Chauhan, appeals for assent on key legislative bills

Also Watch

Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub


More articles


Latest article