28.2 C

Congress announces first list for Arunachal Assembly polls, Ex-CM Nabam Tuki name missing

Must read

Itanagar, March 21: The first list of 34 names for the Arunachal Pradesh assembly elections has been released by the Congress with the name of former chief minister Nabam Tuki, who is also the sitting MLA of Sagalee constituency, not featuring in the list as the grand old party reportedly plans to field their veteran leader against sitting BJP MP and union minister for Earth Sciences Kiren Rijiju in the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat.

The 60 member Arunachal assembly goes to the polls on April 19th together with the first phase of Lok Sabha polls for the entire north eastern region.


Nabam Tuki, who also happens to be the state congress president, along with his deputy and state vice president Bosiram Siram did not find their names included in the candidates list that was signed and released by AICC general secretary K C Venugopal.

Nabam Tuki

Tuki is the sitting MLA from Sagalee constituency in Papumpare district and has been undefeated since 1991.

Congress sources have indicated that while Tuki could be taking on Rijiju in Arunachal West seat, his deputy Siram is expected to be pitted against BJP candidate Tapir Gao from the Arunachal East Lok Sabha seat.

Arunachal Pradesh, like Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura have two Lok Sabha constituencies.


Three former ministers have also found place in the Congress list for the polls — Kumar Wali (Bameng), Takam Pario (Palin), and Tanga Byaling (Nacho) and three women contenders — Gollo Yapung Tana (Pakke Kessang), Jermai Krong (Tezu) and Marina Kenglang (Changlang North).

The Congress is fielding a fresh face Sanhey Phutsok to take on sitting BJP chief minister Pema Khandu in the Mukto assembly constituency.

Another newcomer, debutant Bayamso Kri has been pitted by the Congress to take on Deputy Chief Minister and BJP contender Chowna Mein in Chowkham seat.

Read: World Water Day Run organised at Ampati


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/ne_media_hub


More articles


Latest article