38.3 C

Lok Sabha polls 2024: NDA candidate Phani Bhusan Chowdhury urges citizens to cast their vote

Must read

Guwahati, May 7: The veteran politician and eight-time AGP MLA from Bongaigaon constituency Phani Bhusan Chowdhury, who has been contesting as a NDA candidate from Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency cast his vote at Birjhara Girls’ High School in Bongaigaon on Tuesday.

Speaking to Hub News, Phani Bhusan Chowdhury said, “I have cast my vote and appealed to everyone to come and fulfil their democratic right by casting their votes. Despite inclement weather, people have come out to cast their votes and I am sure that the voter turnout will be maximum as compared to previous years,”.


Affirming her win she stated that, “I am cent percent sure that I will win from this seat because people are with me and they will vote for development,” Chowdhury said.

On the other hand, CPI(M) candidate from Barpeta Lok Sabha seat Manoranjan Talukdar cast his vote. Talukdar is the current MLA of Sarbhog constituency.

The Lok Sabha constituency has 10 assembly segments: Barpeta, Pakabetbari, Bhabanipur-Sarbhog, Bajali, Bongaigaon, Abhayapuri, Nalbari, Tihu, Barkhetri, Hajo-Sualkuchi.

The constituency has 19,49,873 voters while Muslims account for over 7 lakh of the population, and the rest are Hindus.

Since 1952 general election Congress and CPIM has wrested this seat except in 2014 when Sirajuddin Ajmal, the brother of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) chief Badruddin Ajmal was elected to the Lok Sabha. In 2019, Abdul Khaleque from Congress won the seat with a margin of 140,307 votes against Kumar Deepak Das of AGP.

Read: Assam Lok Sabha polls 2024: Cong and BJP candidates exercise their electoral right for Guwahati LS seat


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/ne_media_hub


More articles


Latest article