26.4 C

President Ram Nath Kovind presents Padma Shri Award to NEHU Prof. Badaplin War

Must read

Shillong, Mar 21: President of India Ram Nath Kovind presented the Padma Shri Award to Prof. Badaplin War for Literature and Education at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Monday.

She is a Professor in the Department of Khasi, North Eastern Hill University (NEHU). She is an expert on Khasi linguistics, literature, culture and translation.

President Kovind will conferred two Padma Vibhushan, eight Padma Bhushan and 54 Padma Shri Awards for the year 2022 at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I on Monday. Amongst the prominent awardees at the Investiture ceremony were be Padma Vibhushan recipients – Radhey Shyam and General Bipin Rawat (Posthumous). Padma Bhushan awards were conferred to Ghulam Nabi Azad, Gurmeet Bawa (Posthumous), N. Chandrasekharan, Devendra Jhajharia, Rashid Khan, Rajiv Mehrishi, Dr. Cyrus Poonawalla and Sachchidanand Swami.

The Civil Investiture Ceremony –II is scheduled to be held on March 28.

PM Modi attends Padma Awards ceremony 

The Prime Minister, Narendra Modi was among the attendees at Padma Awards ceremony which were conferred on distinguished people from different walks of life. In a tweet, the Prime Minister said: “Joined the ceremony in which Padma Awards were conferred on distinguished people from different walks of life. We take great pride in their accomplishments and contribution to society.”

About Padma Awards 2022

The awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan. This year a total of 128 Padma Awards are being conferred, including two duo case (in a duo case, the Award is counted as one). The list of awardees comprises four Padma Vibhushan, 17 Padma Bhushan and 107 Padma Shri Awards. 34 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI and 13 Posthumous awardees.

The Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri. These Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities such as art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc. ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field. The awards are announced on the occasion of Republic Day every year.

More articles


Latest article