23.2 C

Tripura By-election: Second round of discussion among opposition parties held

Must read

Agartala, Aug 23: The second round of discussion among Tripura’s opposition parties, including TIPRA Motha, CPI-M, and Congress, was held in Agartala on Tuesday.

Representing the primary opposition Motha were Opposition Leader Animesh Debbarma, MLA Brishaketu Debbarma, Motha president Bijoy Kumar Hrangkhawl, and senior leader Jagadish Debbarma.

From the CPI-M camp, MLA and the party’s state secretary Jitendra Chowdhury, along with Left Front chairman and former MP Narayan Kar, and former Ministers Manik Dey and Ratan Bhowmik, took part in the deliberation.


Meanwhile, Congress was represented by the party’s Tripura president Asish Kumar Saha and former MLA Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl.

Central to the discussion was the matter of Motha and Congress extending support to CPI-M candidates in the upcoming by-elections at Dhanpur and Boxanagar. Notably, both the former parties refrained from fielding their own candidates for these positions.


However, insider sources suggest that the opposition parties have yet to reach a consensus, given CPI-M’s autonomous declaration of the two candidates’ names following the initial round of talks.

Also read: Manipur: Blockade at Imphal-Dimapur NH-2 affects normal life, hit supplies in tribal areas


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub


More articles


Latest article