30.6 C

Tripura Bypolls: BJP wins in Dhanpur, Boxanagar assembly seats

Must read

Agartala, Sep 8: The election officials said on Friday that the BJP’s two candidates have won Tripura’s Dhanpur and Boxanagar Assembly constituencies, defeating their CPI (M) rivals with comfortable margins.

The BJP wrested the Boxanagar seat from the CPI-M and retained the Dhanpur seat.

According to the election officials, BJP candidate Taffajal Hossain, with 34,146 votes, won in Boxanagar by a margin of 30,237 votes, defeating his CPI (M) opponent Mizan Hossain, who managed to get only 3,909 votes.

Taffajal Hossain

On the other hand, the BJP’s Bindu Debnath (30,017 votes) won the Dhanpur constituency, defeating his CPI-M challenger Kaushik Chanda (11146 votes) by a margin of 18871 votes.

Bindu Debnath

The counting of votes for the Tripura by-polls began on Friday morning under tight security.

“After the completion of counting of postal ballots, counting of votes stored in the EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines) have been taken up,” the poll officials said.

The bypolls were held on Tuesday, and the voter turnout stood at 86.56 percent, with 93,495 eligible voters casting their ballots.

Also read: Manipur violence: Fresh firing incident between security forces and armed men in Tengnoupal district


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub


More articles


Latest article