23.2 C

BJP declares name of candidates for Boxanagar and Dhanpur by-election

Must read

Agartala, Aug 16: Amid ongoing discussions among the opposition CPI-M, Congress, and TIPRA Motha regarding support to the already declared CPI-M candidates for the upcoming by-polls in Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly constituencies, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has officially revealed its nominees.

The BJP, in a press release, named Tafajjal Hossain as the candidate for Boxanagar assembly constituency, while Bindu Debnath will contest from Dhanpur assembly seat.

The announcement was made late on Tuesday night.

Tafajjal Hossain had previously contested from Boxanagar assembly constituency in the general assembly elections held earlier this year.


The by-polls for Boxanagar and Dhanpur seats have been necessitated due to the unfortunate passing of CPI-M MLA Samsul Haque and the resignation of Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik, who won from Dhanpur but stepped down to retain her central position.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has outlined the schedule for the by-polls, with nomination submissions open from August 10 to August 17, scrutiny of nomination papers on August 18, withdrawal of nominations by August 21, polling on September 05, vote counting on September 08, and the entire electoral process concluding by September 10.


A total of 93,234 electors are eligible to vote in the two constituencies, including 43,087 voters in Boxanagar and 50,147 voters in the Dhanpur assembly segment. Among them, 20,921 women voters are registered in Boxanagar, while 24,203 women voters are registered in Dhanpur.

Also read: Hindi film screened in Manipur after 23 years, Kuki groups screens ‘Uri: The Surgical Strike’


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub


More articles


Latest article