20.3 C

BJP win in MP, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh; to rule on its own in 12 States, Cong down to 3

Must read

-By Neha Singh

Shillong, Dec 4: With the completion of counting of votes in four states, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) became victory in three states that recently went to polls.

After winning these three states- Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh the ruling party (BJP) will now be in power in 12 states on its own, on the other hand the Congress being the second largest national party, has come down to three after losing Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

The Aam Aadmi Party, whose government in Delhi and Punjab, is third among the national parties.

At present, the BJP is in power in Haryana, Uttarakhand, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Tripura, Assam, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh, and is all set to get Madhya Pradesh back and form its government in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh after defeating Congress (where it’s on its way to victory).


Madhya Pradesh 

All set to retain power in Madhya Pradesh, the BJP won in 163 constituencies, Indian National Congress – INC won 66 seats, while Bharat Adivasi Party – BHRTADVSIP won 1 seats.

Elections for the 230-seat Madhya Pradesh Assembly were held on November 17 in a single-phase. Polling saw 77.82 per cent voter turnout, surpassing the 2018 voting percentage of 75.63 per cent.The state electorate voted for 2,533 candidates in 230 constituencies.

In 2018, the Congress won 114 seats with 40.89 per cent vote share while the BJP won 109 seats with 41.02 per cent votes.


Putting behind the exit poll projections, BJP made it to the biggest-ever victory in Chhattisgarh, where it has had three terms since the state’s formation in 2000.

As per the ECI, BJP won 54 seats, Indian National Congress – INC won 35 while Gondvana Gantantra Party – GGP won 1 seats.


The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) won 115 seats in Rajasthan out of the 199 where assembly elections took place. Congress bagged 69 seats, Bharat Adivasi Party – BHRTADVSIP won 3 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party – BSP won 2 seats, Rashtriya Lok Dal – RLD won 1 seats, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party – RLTP 1 seats and Independent – IND won 8 seats.

Polling in 199 of the state’s 200 seats were held on November 25. The election in Sriganganagar’s Karanpur seat was postponed due to the death of the Congress candidate.


The Congress won Telangana for the first time in a shock for the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi, which was in power in India’s youngest state for the past 10 years.

The Indian National Congress – INC won 64 seats, Bharat Rashtra Samithi – BHRS won 39 seats while Bharatiya Janata Party – BJP won 8 seats, followed by All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen – AIMIM with 3 seats  and Communist Party of India – CPI won 1 seats as per latest record of ECI.


PM Modi’s address to party workers

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed the party workers in the National Capital at the party headquarters. He said “some people are even saying that today’s hattrick has guaranteed the hattrick of 2024…”

PM Modi said “Today, we are seeing the results. There is no alternative to BJP in Madhya Pradesh. BJP has been in power for 2 decades and even after such a long time, people’s trust in BJP is increasing continuously…In the first public meeting in Chhattisgarh, I said that I had come here to invite the people of the state to our oath-taking ceremony after December 3 when we form the govt here…”

“…The voter needs a well-defined roadmap to improve his lifestyle…India’s voter knows that when India moves forward then the state moves forward and the life of every family improves. So, the voter is choosing the BJP continuously,” he added.

Read: People’s mandate for the BJP-a testament to Modi Ki Guarantee: Sarbananda Sonowal


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub

More articles


Latest article