24.9 C

Meghalaya celebrates its 51st Statehood Day; Guv recalls people’s movement for recognition of their traditions and values

Must read

Shillong, Jan 21: Meghalaya celebrated its 51st Statehood Day on Saturday at a programme held at U Soso Tham Auditorium, Shillong. Governor of Meghalaya, Brig. (Dr.) B D Mishra (Retd.) graced the programme as the Chief Guest and Chief Secretary, D P Wahlang as the Guest of Honour.

Speaking on the occasion, the Governor reminded that 51 years ago the late Prime Minister of India, Smti Indira Gandhi, presided over the historic function of the creation of the full-fledged State of Meghalaya at Polo ground, Shillong. He said, “This fulfilled the long cherished political aspirations of the people of Khasi, Jaintia and Garo Hills.”


He added that the Meghalaya Statehood movement was a genuine and hard pursued people’s movement and, in spite of numerous challenges, the united efforts of the visionary leaders and the aspirations of the people for the recognition of their traditions and values, secured this beautiful State which we can call our own.

The Governor also paid homage to the sacrifices made by the forbearer leaders like, B B Lyngdoh, Edwin Bareh, Captain W A Sangma, H S Lyngdoh, Professor G G Swell, Stanley Nichols Roy, H Hynniewta, Wilson Reade, Professor R S Lyngdoh and many others in their noble pursuit to preserve the sacred heritage – their land, culture, traditions, language, history, rights and self rule. “It is due to their vision and determination that today we have our own Government to realise our own aspirations,” he said.

The Governor also stated that in the past 51 years the state has made good progress in agriculture, tourism, power generation, education, information technology and utilization of mineral resources and also reiterated the government’s commitment to wisely use the state’s resources and to revolutionize the administrative machineries in order to make Meghalaya a role model of all-round development.

He also congratulated all the Meghalaya Day Excellence Awardees for their meritorious services to the Public.

While delivering his address, Chief Secretary Wahlang said the creation of our pristine and beautiful Hill State was the befitting culmination of long years of non-violent, persistent and united struggle of the people of the state. He added that on 21st January, 1972 our long preserved culture, language, the love for soulful music, indigenous food and traditions representing tribal hopes, dreams and aspirations received a major fillip as Meghalaya came into existence as a full fledged state of the Union of India.

The Chief Secretary also emphasised on the initiatives taken by the government to address the challenges faced by the state and also to improve primarily in the field of education, health, rural development, agriculture, mobile connectivity and power sector.

During the day, the Chief Guest handed over the Meghalaya Day Excellence Awards 2022 to 18 government officials for their meritorious services to the public. He also distributed the prizes to the winners of the Meghalaya Day Run organised by the Directorate of Sports & Youth Affairs.

Meghalaya Day Awardees 

During the programme, the names of the recipients of Meghalaya Day Awards 2023 were also announced. The awardee for U Tirot Sing Award 2023 in the field of Arts and Culture is Sweetymon Rynjah, Pa Togan N Sangma Award 2023 for Social Service is Dr Jennifer V Basaiawmoit, and U Kiang Nangbah Award 2023 for Sports is Klingson D Marak.

Governor’s Police Medals 

The Governor’s Police Medals for meritorious service for the year 2023 were also announced. tTe awardees for the year 2023 are: Additional Superintendent of Police, Shabbir Sayeed Dkhar, MPS, Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSB), Vincent Nengminza Sangma, MPS, UBSI, Iailamlang Iongi Jyrwa, UBSI, Sean Stanford Lywait, WPSI, Renu D Momin, Havildar, Mewan Roy Pakma, Havildar Amplias Synnah, BN/975 Alphonse Lyngdoh and Fireman, Pyarson R Marak.


More articles


Latest article