20.3 C

Mizoram Assembly Polls: Zoramthanga resigns as MNF’s president

Must read

Aizawl, Dec 5: After the debacle in the just concluded Mizoram Assembly Polls, Mizo National Front (MNF) party president and outgoing Mizoram Chief minister Zoramthanga resigned on Tuesday.

Taking responsibility for the defeat in assembly polls, Zoramthanga tendered his resignation letter to the party’s vice president and outgoing Deputy chief minister Tawnluia.

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) Vice President Lalthansanga defeated Zoramthanga by 2,101 votes in the Aizawl East – I constituency.

The MNF managed to win only 10 of the 40 Assembly seats in the elections. With 27 seats, ZPM won the elections by a landslide.


ZPM is all set to form the government in Mizoram in coming days. ZPM leader Lalduhoma himself emerged victorious from the Serchhip constituency, defeating his MNF rival by a margin of 2,982 votes.

In 2018, the MNF had won 26 seats, dislodging the Congress from power. The ZPM had emerged victorious in eight seats, while the Congress was relegated to third with just five seats, compared to the 34 it had won in 2013.

Read: MBoSE announces schedule for SSLC & HSSLC Exams 2024


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub

More articles


Latest article