28.4 C

ZPM sweeps Mizoram Election 2023, set to form Govt, party meeting to stake claim; Highlights

Must read

Aizwal, Dec 3: The counting of votes in Mizoram which started on Monday morning at 8 am concluded in the evening, a day after it was originally scheduled (Dec 3, Sunday).

ZPM, the opposition party, swept the polls by winning 27 of the 40 seats, while the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), led by Chief Minister Zoramthanga, bagged 10 seats.

The BJP, which contested 23 seats managed to win only two constituencies, while the Congress bagged only one seat.

However, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which contested on four seats for the first time, did not win even a single seat.

Polling for the 40-member Mizoram assembly was held on November 7, with more than 80 per cent of over 8.57 lakh voters having cast their votes to decide the fates of 174 candidates.

Government formation in Mizoram

Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) on Monday said that it will stake claim to form the government in the North Eastern state of Mizoram after holding a consultative meeting of newly elected MLAs and senior party leaders.

ZPM working president K Sapdanga said the party meeting will be held on Tuesday to decide on claiming stake to form the government in Mizoram,



# ZPM secures dominant victory with 27 seats, MNF claims 10 in grand electoral triumph

# Outgoing Mizoram CM Zoramthanga said, “Because of the anti-incumbency effect and the people are not satisfied with my performance so I lost… I accept the verdict of the people and I hope that the next government will perform well… It (the reason) is the anti-incumbency and Covid onslaught.”

# Zoram People’s Movement – ZPM wins 27 seats, Mizo National Front – MNF wins 7 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party – BJP won 2 seats and INC is leading on 1 seat.

# Celebrations continue at the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) office in Aizawl as the party looks all set to form the government in the state.

# Incumbent CM and MNF Chief Zoramthanga suffers defeat in Election

# ZPM wins 6 seat, crosses halfway mark in early trends

# Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) candidate W Chhuanawma wins Tuichang Constituency in Mizoram Assembly Elections 2023.

# ZPM wins 1 seat, leading on 25; MNF on 9, BJP on 3 and INC on 2

# EC trends show ZPM leading on 26, MNF on 9, BJP on 3 and INC on 2

# ZPM leading on 24, MNF on 10, BJP on 3 and INC on 1

# EC trends show ZPM leading on 12, MNF on 8, INC on 2 and BJP on 1

# ECI trends show, MNF leading on 5 seats, ZPM on 3, BJP on 1 and INC on 1

# BJP and ZPM (Zoram People’s Movement) and INC lead on 1 seat each

# First official EC trends in; BJP leads on one seat.

# Mizoram election saw tough fight between the ruling MNF, the ZPM, and the Congress.

# The counting of votes begins for Mizoram election 2023  begins.

The date of counting of votes for Mizoram was changed by ECI following representations from various quarters requesting for a change in the date of counting from December 3 on the ground that Sunday holds a special significance for the people of Mizoram, a Christian-majority state.

On November 28, a five-member delegation of NGOCC met Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar and other officials and urged them again to defer the counting date

The Commission, having considered these representations, has decided to revise the date of counting for the General Election to the Legislative Assembly of Mizoram from 3rd December, 2023 (Sunday) to 4th December, 2023 (Monday), it stated.

Earlier, the counting of votes was scheduled for December 3, along that in four other states including Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Telangana – where assembly polls were held last month.

Read: People’s mandate for the BJP-a testament to Modi Ki Guarantee: Sarbananda Sonowal


Find latest news from every corner of Northeast India at hubnetwork.in, your online source for breaking news, video coverage.

Also, Follow us on-


Youtube channel- www.youtube.com/@NortheastMediaHub2020

Instagram- www.instagram.com/nemediahub


More articles


Latest article